Aviation Regulations

Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) are the guidelines that oversee civilian flight in Canada.  They became law in October 1996, replacing the “Air Regulations and Air Navigation Orders” that previously regulated flight in Canada.

The Canadian Aviation Regulations are the responsibility of the Minister of Transport and his staff at Transport Canada.

The CARs are divided into nine functional “parts”:

  • Part I – General Provisions
  • Part II – Aircraft Identification and Registration and Operation of a Leased Aircraft by a Non-registered Owner
  • Part III – Aerodromes, Airports and Heliports
  • Part IV – Personnel Licensing and Training
  • Part V – Airworthiness
  • Part VI – General Operating and Flight Rules
  • Part VII – Commercial Air Services
  • Part VIII – Air Navigation Services
  • Part IX – Repeals and Coming into Force

The Canadian Aviation Regulations is made up of regulations, standards and advisory material.  Aircraft firms must comply with the regulations and standards as outlined in CARs, while the advisory material is not considered compulsory.

For example, Aircraft manuals are considered compulsory within the CARs regulations.  There are many different types of Aircraft manuals, from civilian aircraft to commuter airlines, helicopters, airlines and military aircraft.  Each of these categories contains manuals specific to the aircraft producer make and model of airliner.  There are also aircraft manuals for avionics and propellers, as well as aviation references, guidebooks, and maintenance manuals.

Most aircraft manuals contain the information required to safely operate the aircraft, while others, such as avionics manuals explain the electronics used within the system.

If you are looking for aircraft manuals, or require more information about the Canadian Aviation Regulations, please don’t hesitate to contact us.